« All events

Sound of Passion

14.6.2023 @ 19:00 - 21:00

Tapahtuman kuva

“These notes of mine kiss all of you. They call for you passionately,” wrote Leoš Janáček to his young beloved in the cover letter of his string quartet. Richard Wagner’s haunting Tristan and Isoldealso deals with lust and longing for one’s beloved. American composer Amy Beach’spiano quintet, full of late Romantic passion, has become a favourite with audiences and critics alike in recent years.

Richard Wagner: Overture from the opera Tristan and Isolde (arr. Sebastian Gürtler)
Liza Ferschtman, violin
Jan Söderblom, violin
Atte Kilpeläinen, viola
Andres Kaljuste, viola
Amalie Stalheim, cello
Jan-Erik Gustafsson, cello
Niek de Groot, double bass

Leos Janácek: String Quartet 2 ’Intimate letters’

Krysztof Penderecki: Duo Concertante for violin and double bass
Elina Vähälä, violin
Niek de Groot, double bass

Amy Beach: Piano Quintet F sharp minor, op. 67
Paavali Jumppanen, piano
Elina Vähälä, violin
Anna-Liisa Bezrodny, violin
Andres Kaljuste, viola
Amalie Stalheim, cello


Duration of the concert is appr. 2 hours including an intermission. Tickets 49 / 25€, a 50% discount on regular-priced tickets for students and concertgoers under 18 years of age.

Two tickets for the price of one for owner-customers of Turku Region Cooperative Bank. Max. two tickets per concert. Available through OP Mobile and the lippu.fi ticket outlets (not R-kiosks). Max. two tickets per customer. Only a limited amount of discounted tickets available.

In co-operation with Turku Region Cooperative Bank.

Buy tickets




Event location

Naantalin kirkko

Nunnakatu 1

Go to the location's website »

The event's artists


Naantali Music Festival warmly thanks its partners and supporters for their cooperation.


Follow us all year round